Trustees and Directors

Our Board of Trustees and Directors is elected by Hostelling Scotland members or co-opted by the Board. The Board of Trustees and Directors is responsible for Governance rather than Management of Hostelling Scotland. Governance focuses on the wider issues of the organisation, its vision, strategic direction, financial and resource sustainability to achieve its charitable objectives and monitoring the progress of the implementation. The day to day conduct of the strategic and operational executive management is delegated by the Board to the Chief Executive and the Senior Management Team.

The Board of Trustees and Directors elections are conducted annually prior to the Annual General meeting and published through all Hostelling Scotland communication channels. Biographies and ballot forms for those nominated for Board election can be downloaded or sought from Head Office.

Those interested in giving their time, skills and experience to take Hostelling Scotland forward through the 21st century are encouraged to get in touch with the Company Secretary ( for further information and an informal discussion on the commitment involved in being a Trustee and Director of Hostelling Scotland.

Current Board of Trustees and Directors
David Calder Chair
Martin Ambrose Vice Chair, Convenor Audit and Risk Committee
Sally Mayer Vice-Chair & Convenor of Governance Nomination Committee
Michael Anderson Board Member
Duncan Craig Board Member
Claire McCorquodale Board Member
Paul Randall Board Member
William Thomson Board Member 
Michael West Board Member
Senior Management
Margo Paterson Chief Executive Officer
Sabine Mackenzie Director of Operations
David Powrie Director of Finance and Resources
To download the any of the publications below please click on the title (requires Adobe Reader)

Articles of Association

Annual Report 2016-17   Annual Report 2015-16