Trustees and Directors

SYHA Board of Trustees and Directors are elected by SYHA Hostelling Scotland members or co-opted by the Board. The Board of Trustees and Directors is responsible for Governance rather than Management of SYHA. Governance focuses on the wider issues of the organisation, its vision, strategic direction, financial and resource sustainability to achieve its charitable objectives and monitoring the progress of the implementation.  The day to day conduct of the strategic and operational executive management is delegated by the Board to the Chief Executive and the Senior Management Team.

The Board of Trustees and Directors elections are conducted annually prior to the Annual General meeting and published through all SYHA communication channels. Biographies and ballot forms for those nominated for Board election can be downloaded or sought from National Office.

Those interested in giving of their time, skills and experience to take SYHA forward through the 21st century are encouraged to get in touch with the Company Secretary ( for further information and an informal discussion on the commitment involved in being a Trustee and Director of SYHA.

Current Board of Trustees and Directors

David Calder   Chairman
Martin Ambrose   Vice Chair, Convenor Audit and Risk Committee
Sally Mayer   Vice-Chair & Convenor of Governance Nomination Committee
Michael Anderson   Board Member
Duncan Craig   Board Member
Paul Randall   Board Member
Michael Spencer   Board Member (co-opted)
Michael West   Board Member

Senior Management

Keith Legge   Chief Executive Officer
Margo Paterson   Deputy Chief Executive
Sabine Mackenzie   Head of Operations

To download the any of the publications below please click on the title (Requires Adobe Reader)

Articles of Association

Annual Report 15-16 (1)      Annual -report -14-15
SYHA Annual Report 2015-16   SYHA Annual Report 2014-15